Arashi shibori and black

16 September 2006

Neki over at A Movable Feast has been having trouble with black and shibori similar to the B&W on cotton here (part 1, part 2). She is working with silk;

Yesterday I took my “real black” dye and shiboried and dyed a piece of silk hoping to get super black on white.This will later become inserts for my red top which is in process right now.
To make a frustrating loong story short” real black” my eye. It dyed with a hideous reddish overcast. Will have to overdye with navy to try and kill the red.
……………..Arashi means storm and we have had a lot of that recently.It was forseeable after such a hot summer……One thing I discovered was that a black MX dye that had been reported in various forums as being it didn’t meet the grade, separating and haloing during immersion dyeing like crazy. Back to my trustworthy never failing Dylon black.

So now we know Lanaset black and Dylon will both work for silk shibori, giving a true black and white.

4 Responses to “Arashi shibori and black”

  1. neki Says:

    Hi Karren
    Yes i had stopped by and in my despair thought, well if it happened to her then there’s hope!
    Fixed the link it works now.
    Thanks for stopping by
    neki desu

    Like

  2. Karren Says:

    I wonder how you applied the Dylon black: direct application or immersion bath?

    Like

  3. Toni Says:

    Hi.
    I have a technical question. How to make the pleats and then how to make the pleats permanent when using silk? As a beginner I used jacquard green label dyes and apply by hand. I’ll probably switch to the french dyes soon once I get the hang of things. BUt how do you make and keep the pleats? Home steaming doesn’t seem like an option, is it?
    How do you get the individual colors into the pleats! I’m so depressed–I wish I knew how to do this. I’ve been searching endlessly online–I can’t believe there are no step by step directorials online. There has to be atleast one site with instruction?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Toni

    Like

  4. Karren Says:

    Toni;
    There are many ways to make pleats. The one I use most often is arashi shibori or pole wrapping. The second is bomaki. Pictures of both techniques can been in this blog.
    Setting the pleats in silk does involve steaming, as well as an acid bath and mechanicial pressure. The pleats in silk are never washable, they must be dry cleaned.
    All of this is carefully expained in my book–SHIBORI: creating color and texture on silk. I am willing to sell you one($24.95), I’ll even autograph it for you.

    Like


Leave a Reply

