More on the market place

29 June 2007

QUINNCREATIVE has weighed in on the state of craft fairs:
craftfair.jpg

Once upon a time, in the 1970s, the purpose of an art show was to let artists who did not have gallery representation sell their work to a local audience. Artists could show and sell their work, and the public had access to good, original art.

…… see complete text…….

What no one noticed was that art lovers left the shows. And the original artists followed them. Some opened galleries, some got part time jobs, some began to teach what they knew at art retreats.
Is it too late? Are original art shows a thing of the past? It depends on what artists want, what the public values, and what promoters are willing to do. We are now a consumer nation, a bargain-loving nation, and a nation who has become used to outsourcing. If your job is being done by someone in India, why shouldn’t your art be done by someone in China?
I believe the art show is now a flea market show. I’m still an original artist, and I will continue to make each piece of my art by hand. That means my work won’t be cheap and won’t be outsourced. Why am I so stubborn? Because the original purpose of my art is not to make money. It is to make meaning. I’d rather do other work (and I do) to allow each piece of art to have a voice and speak with a clear voice. So far, my work has always spoken to an audience. It is the only way I want to make art.
–Quinn McDonald is an artist, writer and certified creativity coach. See her work at QuinnCreative.com

One Response to “More on the market place”


  1. There is a very important part you left off when you copied my post–you didn’t ask for permission to reprint. This text appears on my site as a tab and in some form at the bottom of my posts:
    (c) 2007, Quinn McDonald. All rights reserved. No reproduction, electronically or in any kind of print, without express written permission of the author.
    Please respect and honor copyright law.

    Like


Leave a Reply

