More about color samples

28 September 2007

Peg is  continuing her samples, now she mixed orange and blue

She talks about the using the Lanaset Mustard yellow, which I call Gold, instead of the Lemon Yellow.  Actually the gold is the work horse in any dye set.  In Lanaset dyes the 2 colors I buy the most are black (high DOS) and gold.  The Lemon Yellow is very weak tintorially and I only use use it when I must.

What does weak tintorially mean?  It means that you can’t get a very high DOS with the color.  It means that if you add one drop of Royal Blue you will have green and even adding lots more yellow it is hard to get yellow green.  It means that when dyeing neutrals, a mix of red, blue and yellow, you will be in the pale range and it will be difficult to get the yellow based browns and golds.  In Lanaset I usually use the Gold to mix neutrals.  It is gives greater DOS and closer in tintorial strength to the reds and blues making a larger ranger of colors possible.

 

So when would I use the Lemon Yellow? (Warning:I am now going to use terms to describe the color from the Munsell Color Theory.) Lemon Yellow is a dye with high chroma, that is it is a clear, bright color.  Gold is a dye of much lower chroma, it is a dull color.  There is no way to brighten a color, that is increase its chroma.  So if I want a final color that has high chroma, that is bright, I must start with high chroma dyes.  So If I want to mix a bright Spring Green I would need to start with the Lemon Yellow but the Gold would be fine for olive.  Mixing colors always decreases the chroma, I don’t know anyway, just mixing dyes, to increase the chroma.  Thus the chroma of the pure dyes of a set limit the brightness achievable with those dyes.  Thus one can not use Lanaset to mix neon colors.

So using Lanaset dyes,  I might use Lemon Yellow with a tad of Turquoise (both high chroma) to achieve a bright Spring Green. 

I might use Gold, Navy and Magenta (a red with black in it) to mix a dark Olive– a deep, dull color. 

Sage Green might be Gold and Royal Blue.

 The terms hue, value and chroma are used to describe colors.  I learned this from Munsell Color Theory.  I had to work hard to understand color and the most critical step was the The New Munsell Student Color Set.

This set has a a booklet with the Theory and exercises, notebook,  and color  chips.  You have to glue the color chips in the right places.  In this glueing you will learn more about color that you thought there was to know.  You will see browns are oranges and how many browns there are. You will see that black and yellow give a green.  Your eye will be trained to to see more colors.

Leave a Reply

