First spindle spun yarn

3 June 2011

I got this painted roving as a door prize at Stringtopia where I also purchased the Jensen Turkish spindle.  Abby Franquemont, in person, in a video and thru her book have managed to get me spinning on the spindle even though I’m past the prime age for learning spinning (prime age 5yrs. or less).

spindle and spun yarn

This is 105g , singles at 25 wpi, gave 617 yds.  I plan to use it to weave a small project  such as a scarf.  I will probably combine it with a fine smooth yarn if I can find or make  an approriate color.  I never sat down to spin, I just carried it with me during a trip.  Airport waits contributed.

Leave a Reply

