Red brocade

4 April 2014

Bhutanese brocaded sash

Do you remember this Bhutanese sash?  At the time I put it on this blog I was surprised that it was card woven and brocaded.  But the heart motifs, made of 3 diamonds intrigue me.  I do love hearts.

So I started  a row of them, in 13 different colors of red/pink, turns on the backside. I can see that the Bhutanese piece has the turns on the top  but I need to develop my skills of turns on the back.IMG_1755

 

Started with some selvage to selvage stripes to delineate the design area.  Diamonds are easy enough to make, space between the motifs makes it easier to fish out the right thread.

row of hearts

 

Final row of hearts, washed and pressed.  Maybe these motifs would look more like hearts if I had used one color for each motif. In person each of these colors is different, photography makes them more the some.

Leave a Reply

