Linen Samples

18 April 2014

The linen thread that was sold to me as 16/1 is actually much finer than the finest 40/1 at the workshop.  It is so fine and strong that I had paper like cuts all over my hands.  So I did change the sett from the draft given to me but did not get it quite right because it is not 16/1.  Anyhow I wove about half of it and finished it at the workshop but the lace threads did not clump together and the plain weave sections didn’t move enough to see the heavier edges so I washed it more vigorously when I got home .  I did cold mangle it again.  It is now more to my liking.  Needless to say it is very sheer.

The sample is  sleazy leading to the irregularities but it does have it charm, especially when you see it in person.

1897 la Coeur.2 1897 la Coeur.1

I have not decided what to do with the rest of the warp.  Resley for more density in the plain weave sections? Weave it as it is?

 

One Response to “Linen Samples”

  1. Charlene Says:

    It looks charming from here.

    Like


Leave a Reply

