More Huave Style weaving

18 October 2015

This was a short warp, 3 yds. but I’m getting a lot of practice on it.    Someone asked where I got my patterns.

I didn’t manage to bring any Huave textiles home with me but I did handle some  while I was there.  Because I have been working on brocade for the past two years I recognized the cloth, not the huipiles, are continuous inlay/overlay the same as  the Thunderbolt Towels I made before I went to Oaxaca.  The only difference is that the Huave cloths are warp dominate.  Once I had a sett for the warp dominate cloth, 8/2 cotton at 20epi,  I searched for photographs for the patterns.

Huave geometric cloth, Photo: Karen Elwell

Huave geometric cloth, Photo: Karen Elwell

My first Huave Style cloth with geometric design

My first Huave Style cloth with geometric design

 

Pillow tops with Huave insert

Pillow tops with Huave insert

My second Huave Style design

Second Huave Style design

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The newest design is inspired by some photographs in the book, Mexican Textiles

Huave textile top left:fretted zigzags alternate with star motifs.

Huave textile top left:fretted zigzags alternate with star motifs.

My zigzag with star motifs still on the loom

My zigzag with star motifs still on the loom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still have warp left on the loom.  The most common Huave cloths are ones have animalitos in rows across the cloth.  I personally prefer geometric designs but I must try the animalitos such as these:

Huave cloth with creatures of the sea Photo: Karen Elwell

Huave cloth with creatures of the sea Photo: Karen Elwell

 

The Huave live near the sea and this charming cloth has crabs, fish, shrimp, seahorses and a mermaid and merman.  For my first try I’ll stick with rows of figures more along these lines:

Huave cloth. San Diego Museum of Man. The brown brocading weft is natural brown cotton, coyuche.

Huave cloth. San Diego Museum of Man. The brown brocading weft is natural brown cotton, coyuche.

One Response to “More Huave Style weaving”

  1. lernin' Says:

    Beautiful work Karen. I’m a fan of the ethnic techniques as well.

    Like


Leave a Reply

