Finished the warp for Huave Style cloths

22 October 2015

This was a 3 yard warp of some pale mint green 8/2 cotton I had on hand. The Huave style brocade is continuous supplemental weft in inlay/ overlay arrangement on a slightly warp dominate plain weave cloth.  I did four pieces on this warp:

All over geometric design.

All over geometric design.

Small fretted ZigZag

Small fretted ZigZag

ZigZag and diamond , all fretted

ZigZag and diamond , all fretted

Critters: spiders, grasshoppers, dragonflies, moths, bugs, bees.

Critters: spiders, grasshoppers, dragonflies, moths, bugs, bees.

I learned a lot by weaving these. I used many of the techniques I use on a backstrap loom to make this work, open the shed and beat with a sword, use a stretcher, use my body to brace the loom.  Using two heddles to get a 20epi sett on the RH loom  has the warp grouped 1,3,1,3 and this grouping washed out in some parts but not in others; the backstrap loom would have the warp more uniformly spread.  Next time I’ll just use the backstrap loom.

My favorite, by far is the yellow one, I prefer geometric to figurative designs.  The Yellow one has the least inlay background and gives a very different fell to it, on of bas relief, that I find quite seductive.

5 Responses to “Finished the warp for Huave Style cloths”

  1. Sandlapper Says:

    These are outstanding. Please do an online tutorial on how you accomplished this beautiful weaving

    Like


  2. Thank you! I have written extensively about how to do this in earlier blog posts starting with Thunderbolt towels.

    Like

  3. Sandlapper Says:

    I know I have them all bookmarked, and read and re-read them. As well as studied them in amazement.
    I was think of something along the line of visual (on line video) or purchased DVD.

    Like

  4. Dana Says:

    I love the motifs for the Critters. Where did you find them or did you just graph them? I would love a copy of yours.

    Like


    • I just woven them from looking at pictures of their cloths. If you understand the technique and can see the cloth you can weave it. In Oaxaca last year I took some classes at the Museo Textil de Oaxaca and when I asked for a new motif I was handed a piece of cloth. I did not see any graphs while I was there. I did see pieces of old weaving a lovingly saved as samples.

      Like


Leave a Reply

