Yarn Audition

8 November 2015

I said I wasn’t going to start a new weaving project, I need to dye, BUT I saw a new technique for using string heddles on a RH loom to weave leno or gauze that intrigued me.  I have done this successfully, the last time was in January 2015 in Oaxaca.  On a RH loom, I tied additional string heddles for the twists and it worked quite well.

Good and bad leno: the lower band is a successful all over leno or gauze band and the upper band is a failed attempt at figurative gauze as seen.

Good and bad leno: the lower band is a successful all over leno or gauze band using string heddles, then some plain weave and the upper band is a failed attempt at figurative gauze.

But I have just seen a new technique for making string heddles for the twists, a kind of doup leno, that I want to try.  The new technique can’t make  plain weave ( but  my technique does do plain weave so why am I interested in this new one???).  Anyhow it will be all gauze and relatively open , but stable cloth.  So I will do just a small scarf with a beautiful color cotton yarn I brought back from Oaxaca, Rosa Mexicano Fuerte.  The new technique suggests using two different yarns, perhaps a novelty one.

 

So I gathered yarns from the stash to audition as sidekick to the Rosa Mexicano Fuerte.

Stash yarns for consideration

  Stash yarns for consideration

 

The principal yarn is in the front .  It has 30 wpi  and is a 2-ply, #10 on the label and mercerized.  Very similar to our 10/2 pearl cotton. And I have 3 skeins of it, each 250 yds.  Plenty for a scarf.

The first thing I do to test a yarn pair is twist the two yarns together.   I discarded the chenille touching the Mexican rose on the left as too purple.  I soon found that all the other colors had lower chroma, that is are duller, including the two that look similar.  In doing this I decided that one of the properties I liked in the Mexican rose was it high chroma.  The pale pinks washed out the base yarn completely.  I so wanted the lumpy-bumpy light pink yarn to work so I wrapped it together with the rose.

Just twisting the yarns together has eliminated the pale ones , the purplish ones and am left with only the two very similar ones.  The hot pink in the skein is a 5-ply, and on the cone is a cotton flake, also thicker.  But these three make for a mono-chromatic, slightly duller and boring  composition.

Back to the stash looking for high chroma colors to combine with the rose to give it more character with out dulling too much.  I found a bright orange cotton flake and a orange novelty yarn, 100% nylon. When twisted together they did maintain the brightness but the flake is a bit too thick and would dominate.  After wrapping the fun orange novelty yarn, the color was good but the hairy texture would hide the texture created by the leno twists.  Maybe less of the hairy one and use one of the other yarns near in color.  Too complicated for a small project just to see how the technique works.

What better excuse is there to go to a yarn store with yummy yarns.  I took  the Mexican Rose and novelty orange with me.  I saw ribbon yarns, yarns with sequins and glitter ( glitter is not my thing), nothing popped out as the right one, but several might work.  Then off  in the variegated wool yarns was a cotton one .  It has several bright colors in it on a dark base and was plied with a fine deep rose.  I twisted it with my yarn  and it looked good.  It is also similar to the #10 in size so combine well with it with out dominating.  Here are three yarns wrapped with the Mexican rose.

The Mexican rose wrapped with: left, light pink bouclé, center, orange novelty and right, the new variegated yarn.

The Mexican rose wrapped with: left, light pink bouclé, center, orange novelty and right, the new variegated yarn.

The right one is the only ones that is close to the desired color, a bit darker compared to the skein behind. Not monochromatic.

IMG_4049

 

The light pink boucle looks nearly white with the strong rose and dominates by size.  One could try using two strand of the strong color but the contrast is too much and they don’t blend visually.  The Mexican rose is just the background.

 

 

 

 

Here with the orange novelty yarn, you can see the strong rose color and it is only

Mexican rose and orange novelty

Mexican rose and orange novelty

slightly dulled , not too bad color wise.  Although the hairs on the orange yarn are nearly transparent they obscure the texture underneath.  What a fun shimmery combo but not for this project.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mexican rose and fine, bright variegated yarns

Mexican rose and fine, bright variegated yarns

Then I wrapped the new yarn and it is nearly the same size as the rose and visually blends with it and adds pops of color but does not dominate.  The mix is darker but closer to what I wanted than any of the others. I am very pleased with this combination and will proceed with these yarns .

 

So no matter how big your stash you always need one more skein.

Leave a Reply

